Skip to main content
The Invitation [electronic resource] : ePub edition
The Invitation [electronic resource] : ePub edition
Foley, Lucy2015
Articles
Find it!
A epic, escapist novel that will transport you away to an extraordinary time in history. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop.‘Fabulously engrossing’ Woman & HomeRome, 1950s. One fateful night, Hal Jacobs meets Stella, a beautiful society darling from New York. To Hal, flailing in the post-war darkness, she’s a point of light. They’re from different worlds, but both trying and failing to carve out a new life.Stella vanishes all too quickly, until a curious invitation from an Italian Contessa reels her back into Hal’s world. They join the Contessa’s collection of luminaries on a yacht headed for Cannes film festival.The scene on board is a fiction - scars from the war can be hidden yet not healed. Everyone is hiding a dark history, but Stella’s secrets run the deepest. Compelled by her fragile beauty, Hal is determined to bring back the girl she once was, the girl who’s been confined to history.The Invitation is an epic love story that will transport you from the glamour of the Italian Riviera, to the darkness of war-torn Spain, and to a golden - if rather haunted - time.
Author:
Imprint:
[Place of publication not identified] : HarperCollins, 2015
Collation:
1 online resource (1 text file)
ISBN:
9780007575381
Language:
English
BRN:
2552127
Find it!
0